In 2011, the family company Domaine Clarence Dillon acquired Château Tertre Daugay, followed by Château L'Arrosée in 2013. Château Quintus was founded from the union of these two estates with a centuries-old history, listed as Saint-Émilion "Premier Cru" in the reference work Cocks et Féret between 1868 and 1949, and whose wines won a gold medal at the Paris Universal Exhibition in 1867. Château Quintus is the fifth estate in the Domaine Clarence Dillon group, alongside Châteaux Haut-Brion and La Mission Haut-Brion. The estate takes its name from the Gallo-Roman tradition of naming one's fifth child Quintus.
Dominating a promontory 62 metres above sea level on the Saint-Émilion limestone plateau on Bordeaux’s Right Bank, the Château Quintus vineyard stretches across a surface area of 28 hectares. Neighbouring some of the most famous châteaux in the appellation, Château Quintus owes its uniqueness to its mosaic of terroirs, soils, slopes and orientations. The vines, which are on average 30 years old, are planted on the plateau, on a succession of south-facing limestone strata, as well as on south-facing clay-limestone and gravel soils to the north of the property.
The grape varieties are dominated by Merlot, with Cabernet Franc and Cabernet Sauvignon. Château Quintus is renowned for its precise, delicate wines with a tannic structure that reflects the typical characteristics of the clay-limestone terroirs of Saint-Émilion.
The unique bottle for Château Quintus and its second wine, Dragon de Quintus, is inspired by the shape of the old Château Haut-Brion bottles, created in the mid-19th century.